Using the Garmin etrex 20 – Recording a track

One thing we want to do through this website is to record waypoints and tracks of our trips for future reference.  This is a post that is going to be part one of a series on how to use our Garmin etrex 20 for that purpose.

Here I picked my daily trail from parking to work.  I turned on the unit and it quickly picked up the satellites and my position fix follows, showing where I was on the map:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I started moving, the unit also picked up my speed.  Notice there was no time to destination since I haven’t set the destination for this demo.  Notice the blue line showing my track.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I approached a major landmark on the trail, i.e. the yellow parking permit dispenser:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I could mark that as a waypoint by clicking “back”, and then select “mark waypoint.”  I can put in more descriptions of the waypoint in the following screen if I wanted to:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I approached my destination, I could see the waypoint I just marked on my track.  Notice the “fish” icon slightly behind the blue triangle.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After I have arrived my destination, I can then save the track by clicking “back”, followed by “Track manager”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quite easy to use!  Next time I will be demonstrating how to connect the Garmin to a computer and use the Garmin software “Basecamp” to export the track and look at the various stats of this particular track.  I am sure the GPS is more functional than what I am showing but let’s take that one step at a time!

Leave a Reply

